Solutions and Rewards

Solution_freeway_sign.346143713

“It isn’t that they can’t see the solution.  It is that they can’t see the problem.” – Gilbert K. Chesterton.  If we do not know that we have a choice, do we really have a choice?  Does it matter?  Some of my life’s greatest shifts came from a ‘desire’.  My desire was simple. “I want it”.  So I got ‘it’.  Later I started to recognize the idea that I could choose.  I was 17 when I became awake to the idea that I could change my life.  Now just on the other side of 40 it’s easier to grasp more fully the concept that it’s always my choice.

Yesterday I was sharing my unease about crossing paths with someone.  My ego judged their actions as wrong. My ego felt it deserved an apology.  Then I visualized them as a fearful child.  Then mediated on their point of view.  If they were scared how they must have been feeling. Then I realized they acted from fear.  So I made a choice to act from love.  I forgave them.  Our paths did cross briefly.  We laughed.  My state is no longer disturbed at the thought of them.  In fact, they are no longer in my thoughts.  I am free.

How many times have we considered canceling an event to avoid a discomfort?  How often do we build a story in our minds about someone and stay stuck on that note?  How often does someone else’s actions have power to disturb our peace of mind?

If we stop to ask these questions, to look behind our disturbance, then answers will come.  It is those of us who do not recognize we have a problem that stay stuck.  “Although we my be somewhat at fault we are sure others are to blame” Anonymous.  Today someone shared they believed they had no choice over what they felt.  Today my experience has taught me that I do have a choice over how I feel.  I can choose to change my state.  It may take a walk, a chat with a friend, being playful, an event I enjoy or just asking for a hug.

If we decide that we have a choice, we may experience great resistance internally.  We may resist the idea that we have the power to change our thoughts, perceptions and reactions.  This may be scary to our ego which has kept us victimized into believing that we have no power. We must be rescued.  Life is horrible.   All negative fear thoughts give us permission to cop out on ownership of OUR LIFE.  The life we say we want to live but then ego sends a message that we are not responsible.

“Illusions are all vain, and dreams are gone even while they are woven out of thoughts that rest on false perceptions.” Course In Miracles.

The meaning we give an event is our choice.  The power we give these old unconscious beliefs is our choice.  We can choose to take ownership of our life.  The solution is now.  Right now jump up and scream I am JOYFUL. Turn on some music and dance.  Call someone and say THANK YOU.  Write a list of things you are thankful for.  Decide to see the glass half full.  Go ahead come alive.  Wake up to your remarkable and creative self.

Categories: accountability, change, conflict, conflict resolution, empowerment, enilghtenment, goal setting, happiness | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

